Home - NUREB Guide - Course-Based Research Guidelines - LibGuides at Nipissing University

NUREB Guide

NUREB Guide - Course-Based Research

These course-based research guidelines provide advice to Professors looking to determine whether research in their courses requires: (1) no REB review, (2) course-based REB review, or (3) full-form REB review. Several considerations help to determine which protocol is required for course-based research activities and the ethical procedures that need to be followed. These guidelines serve as a quick reference for course-based research. For further clarification, refer to the TCPS-2 2022 or consult the Nipissing University Research Ethics Board (NUREB).

What is Research?

The Secretariat for the Responsible Conduct of Research defines research as “an undertaking intended to extend knowledge through a disciplined inquiry and/or systematic investigation” (TCPS-2, Article 2.1).

Why have Ethics Review for Course-Based Research?

Research ethics review is limited to activities defined as “research” involving “human participants.” It includes course-based research activities, in which the primary purpose is pedagogical, but a possible risk is present to those recruited to participate in such activities, where such activities may appear indistinguishable from those that meet this Policy’s definition of research (Application of Article 6.12). Therefore, course-based activities may require an ethical review.

Assembly of First Nations: Advocating for First Nations in Canada
Advocating for the rights and quality of life of First Nations people in Canada.
AFN advocates for First Nations in Canada, facilitating regional discussions and dialogue, advocacy efforts and campaigns, legal and policy analysis, and building relationships between First Nations, governments, businesses and the general public.
The First Nations Principles of OCAP
The First Nations principles of ownership, control, access, and possession – more commonly known as OCAP® – assert that First Nations have control over data collection processes, and that they own and control how this information can be used.
Manitoulin Anishinaabek Research Review Comittee
In March 2001, Noojmowin Teg Health Access Centre sponsored a community-based health research conference to provide a forum for community members to discuss their experience with health research on Manitoulin Island. Participants brainstormed about what makes research ethical from a First Nations perspective and how the goal of ethical research could be realized and thus created a vision for health research.
Nipissing First Nation Research Policy
This policy is intended to guide all research conducted in and about Nipissing First Nation. The policy promotes certainty and clarity and guides the research process.
Research with Indigenous Participants/Communities
In accordance with a commitment made by Nipissing University in 2010 all faculty, student and staff research and academic engagements related to Indigenous peoples and/or communities will involve the participation of the Office of Indigenous Initiatives - Research (OII) prior to submission of an REB Protocol.

Research and Reconciliation : Unsettling Ways of Knowing Through Indigenous Relationships by Wilson, Shawn, 1966- editor.; Breen, Andrea V., 1975- editor.; DuPré, Lindsay, 1990- editor.
Call Number: Available Online

ISBN: 9781773381169

Publication Date: 2019

"Research as Reconciliation will profile stories of Indigenous and non-Indigenous researchers engaging in research that is aligned with Indigenist ways of knowing. The contributors in this volume represent various disciplines, backgrounds, and diverse conceptions of reconciliation and its meaning in relation to ongoing settler colonial projects. This edited collection will highlight Indigenist research, methodologies, and pedagogy as forms of knowledge production and transmission that extend beyond the theoretical into practical work that demonstrates possibilities for reconciliation processes in action. Contributors include Indigenous and Non-Indigenous voices from communities across Canada as well as a few international Indigenist scholars. The book will be comprised of research stories written in a variety of creative forms, such as stories, letters, twitter conversations and visual methodologies. By emphasizing stories rather than traditional academic chapters, we aim for the book to be reflective of individual voices, relevant to Indigenous traditions of storytelling, and interesting to practitioners, community members and others outside of academia who are engaging with research."-- Provided by publisher.
Research Is Ceremony by Shawn Wilson
Call Number: GN380.W554 2008

ISBN: 9781552662816

Publication Date: 2008-09-01

"Relationships don't just shape Indigenous reality, they are our reality. Indigenous researchers develop relationships with ideas in order to achieve enlightenment in the ceremony that is Indigenous research. Indigenous research is the ceremony of maintaining accountability to these relationships. For researchers to be accountable to all our relations, we must make careful choices in our selection of topics, methods of data collection, forms of analysis and finally in the way we present information"-- Jacket.
Seeking a Research-Ethics Covenant in the Social Sciences by Will C. van den Hoonaard
ISBN: 1772126543

Publication Date: 2023-05-30

In Seeking a Research-Ethics Covenant in the Social Sciences, Will C. van den Hoonaard chronicles the negative influence that medical research-ethics frameworks have had on social science research-ethics policies. He argues that the root causes of the current ethics disorder in the social sciences are the aggressive audit culture in universities and the privilege accorded to medical research ethics, which overrides ethical issues in all other disciplines. Van den Hoonaard recovers the unique history of research ethics in sociology and anthropology and provides an overview of proposals to remedy the situation. Based on an analysis of current regimes, he provides a detailed plan for how to unshackle research ethics in the social sciences from medical frameworks. Central to this plan is an insistence that covenantal ethics be embedded in the professional training of researchers in the social sciences. Based on decades of research, advocacy, and engagement with research-ethics policy at all levels, with a chapter by Marco Marzano (University of Bergamo), the book will be of interest to researchers, policy makers, and administrators who seek to support the full potential of social science research."-- Provided by publisher.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by Norman K. Denzin (Editor); Yvonna S. Lincoln (Editor); Michael D. Giardina (Editor); Gaile S. Cannella (Editor)
ISBN: 1071836749

Publication Date: 2023-05-30

"This new edition of the SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research represents the sixth generation of the ongoing conversation about the discipline, practice, and conduct of qualitative inquiry. As with earlier editions, the Sixth Edition is virtually a new volume, with 27 of the 34 chapters representing new topics or approaches not seen in the previous edition, including intersectionality; critical disability research; postcolonial and decolonized knowledge; diffraction and intra-action; social media methodologies; thematic analysis, collaborative inquiry from the borderlands; qualitative inquiry and public health science; co-production and the politics of impact; publishing qualitative research; and academic survival. Authors in the Sixth Edition engage with questions of ontology and epistemology, the politics of the research act, the changing landscape of higher education, and the role qualitative researchers play in contributing to a more just, egalitarian society." -- Provided by publisher.