LibGuides: Truth and Reconciliation Guide: Home

Welcome

Hello, Boozhoo, Aaniin, Tansi, Wotziye, Tanshi, Asujutilli, Ho/Han,

Content in this guide may prove challenging to some. User care is recommended and support information is listed below.

The purpose of this guide is to provide visitors with basic information, resource guidance, and supports while learning more about Truth and Reconciliation. It provides connections to online resources and exhibitions to support learning and research on Truth and Reconciliation from sources such as the National Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada and the Canadian government. Other sections include recommended resources from the Library's collection focusing on the Truth and Reconciliation (TRC)'s findings and Calls to Action, residential school experiences/memoirs, advocacy, activism, and cultural revitalization, and children and young adult materials.

There are always more to learn and engage with regarding this topic.

Orange Shirt Day

Orange Shirt Day
The annual Orange Shirt Day on September 30th opens the door to global conversation on all aspects of Residential Schools. It is an opportunity to create meaningful discussion about the effects of Residential Schools and the legacy they have left behind. A discussion all Canadians can tune into and create bridges with each other for reconciliation. A day for survivors to be reaffirmed that they matter, and so do those that have been affected. Every Child Matters, even if they are an adult, from now on. ~ From Orange Shirt Day About Us page

Resources

A Child-friendly Version of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada's Calls to Action
Between 1879 AND 1996, the Government of Canada took First Nations, Métis, and Inuit kids away from their families and homes and put them in residential schools. At residential school, kids were not allowed to speak their language or celebrate their culture and were often treated badly by the adults in charge of the schools. Many of the children who went to residential schools became sick and died because the schools were poorly built and didn’t get enough money from the Government of Canada to keep the kids healthy. The kids who survived residential school returned home with a great sadness and hurt that has been passed on to current generations.
Indigenous Inclusion - Faculty Toolkit (The Learning Portal - College Libraries)
The Faculty Toolkit from The Learning Portal of College Libraries Ontario was created to increase knowledge and understanding of Indigenous culture and perspectives. "Do you want to learn strategies for creating space to learn, explore, grow and create relationships and environments that promote diversity and inclusion? You have found the correct space!" TLP
Legacy of Hope
We are a national Indigenous charitable organization with the mandate to educate and create awareness and understanding about the Residential School System, including the intergenerational impacts such as the removal of generations of Indigenous children from their families, including the Sixties Scoop, the post-traumatic stress disorders that many First Nations, Inuit, and Metis continue to experience, all while trying to address racism, foster empathy and understanding and inspire action to improve the situation of Indigenous Peoples today. The LHF supports the ongoing healing process of Residential School Survivors, and their families and seeks their input on projects that honour them.
Library and Archives Canada’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission Web Archive
Library and Archives Canada’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission Web Archive provides access to digital preservation copies of the websites of organizations connected with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada, either as active partners at national events or through initiatives to support commemoration. The collection was curated in collaboration with the University of Winnipeg Library, the University of Manitoba Libraries, and the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation.
Maamwi: The Learning Portal - College Learning Portal
Welcome to Maamwi. The Maamwi Hub is inspired by the TRC 94 Calls to Action to ensure that the 24 Colleges of Ontario lead in the education of both staff and students on Indigenous history, culture, knowledge, and current Indigenous worldviews. The word "Maamwi" means "Together" in Anishinaabemowin, one of the widely spoken Indigenous languages in the territory currently referred to as Ontario. The Maamwi hub comprises of 5 major sections (About, Discover, Inquire, Inspire, and Empower) with each section categorized thematically.
National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation Memorial Map
This map provides a basic overview of the location of some the most important sites in the Residential School Children’s histories.
Residential School History Education Resource
For a period of more than 150 years, First Nations, Inuit and Métis Nation children were taken from their families and communities to attend schools which were often located far from their homes. More than 150,000 children attended Indian Residential Schools. Many never returned.
Truth and Reconciliation (TRC) Website
The National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (NCTR) is a place of learning and dialogue where the truths of Residential School Survivors, families and communities are honoured and kept safe for future generations.
Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada: Calls to Action
In order to redress the legacy of residential schools and advance the process of Canadian reconciliation, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission makes the following calls to action.
United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples
The United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP) was adopted by the General Assembly on Thursday, 13 September 2007, by a majority of 144 states in favour, 4 votes against (Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the United States) and 11 abstentions (Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burundi, Colombia, Georgia, Kenya, Nigeria, Russian Federation, Samoa and Ukraine).
Years later the four countries that voted against have reversed their position and now support the UN Declaration. Today the Declaration is the most comprehensive international instrument on the rights of indigenous peoples. It establishes a universal framework of minimum standards for the survival, dignity and well-being of the indigenous peoples of the world and it elaborates on existing human rights standards and fundamental freedoms as they apply to the specific situation of indigenous peoples.

What Can I Do?

A few suggestions to that question, What Can I Do?

Reflect
- Consider your personal contributions to reconciliation.
Listen
- Listen to those who are willing to share their stories and experiences, that is a privilege you have been given.
- Listen to Indigenous podcasts and musicians.
Acknowledge
- Acknowledge the Residential school and other experiences of Indigenous Peoples.
Learn
- Learn about the diversity of Indigenous communities across the country and specifically about those located where you live.
- Attend a cultural event.
Read
- Read materials created by Indigenous authors, share stories with children.
- Read and implement the Calls to Action by the Truth and Reconciliation.
Watch
- Watch films and documentaries by Indigenous film-makers
- View one of acclaimed director Alanis Obomsawin's documentary films at https://www.nfb.ca/directors/alanis-obomsawin
- Visit Indigenous exhibitions at GLAM (Galleries, Libraries, Archives, and Museums) or cultural institutions.
Support
- Support emerging and established Indigenous authors, artists, creators, communities, and groups.
- Volunteer at an Indigenous not-for-profit.
Advocate
- Advocate for Indigenous causes and supports as invited to do so.

Supports

National Survivors and Family Crisis Line
1-866-925-4419
The Residential Schools Crisis Line is available 24-hours a day for anyone experiencing pain or distress as a result of his or her Residential school experience.

National Associations of Friendship Centres
The National Association of Friendship Centres is a network of over 100 Friendship Centres and Provincial/Territorial Associations, which make up part of the Friendship Centre Movement–Canada's most significant national network of self-determined Indigenous owned and operated civil society community hubs offering programs, services and supports to urban Indigenous people.

Provincial Mental Health Supports (Ontario)
ounded in 1952, the Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA), Ontario, is a non-profit, charitable organization committed to making mental health possible for all.

Reconciliation Canada Support Lines
Need Help?
Are you in crisis or an emergency?
If you are in an emergency, or feel that you or someone else is at risk of harm, please contact someone immediately:
Call 911 for help right away.

OTHER SUPPORTS

Good2Talk Helpline: 1-866-925-5454 or text GOOD2TALKON to 686868
Ontario’s 24/7 helpline for postsecondary students.

Kids Help Phone: 1-800-668-6868 or text CONNECT to 686868
Youth mental health support available 24/7.

Truth and Reconciliation Guide

Contact Us

Library Service Desk

Land Acknowledgement

Follow Us

Follow us!

Welcome

Orange Shirt Day

Resources

What Can I Do?

Supports