LibGuides: Elimination of Violence Against Women: Home

16 Days of Activism

Content in this Guide may prove challenging to some. User care is recommended and support information is listed below.

The purpose of the Guide is to act as a small virtual display of sample resources available from the Learning Library's collection of materials.

It will provide researchers and other visitors with resources and information to understand gender-based violence. Links are also provided to local, national, and international organizations focusing on the elimination of violence against women and girls.

The themes explored in this Guide include:

Gender-based violence
Sexual violence
Violence against women
Violence against Indigenous Women and Girls
Survivors
Resilience
Activism related to gender-based violence

The books and e-books included in this virtual collection include case studies, research, fiction, and biographical materials. Each record provides a brief synopsis of the content found within the book.

The International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women (November 25th) will mark the launch of the UN Women UNiTE to End Violence against Women campaign (Nov 25-Dec 10) — an initiative of 16 days of activism concluding on the day that commemorates the International Human Rights Day (December 10th).

On Campus Supports, Events, and Resources

Nipissing University - Sexual Violence and Prevention Education
Sexual Violence Prevention and Education works to build awareness about sexual violence and gender-based violence on campus and make accessible the supports and services for those who are affected. The Sexual Violence Prevention and Education Coordinator provides support to survivors, students, staff and faculty.
Canadore College - Consent
This link provides access to Canadore's Safe Campuses page.
Nipissing - 16 Days of Activism
What are the 16 Days of Activism?
The 16 Days of Activism Against Gender-based Violence is an annual international campaign that begins on November 25, the International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women, and goes until December 10, Human Rights Day. This campaign started in 1991 to call out and speak up on gender-based violence and to renew our commitment to ending violence against women, girls, and 2SLGBTQI+ individuals.
Nipissing University - Student Counselling Services
Student Counselling Services works to support all students in achieving positive mental and emotional wellness. Our services are designed to be brief, effective, and professional.

External Resources

Government of Canada - Elimination of Violence Against Women and Girls
Violence against women and girls takes many forms and affects every society. One in three women experience physical or sexual violence in their lifetime, mostly by an intimate partner. Violence against women and girls is a form of gender-based violence.
Canada condemns all forms of violence against women and girls. At the UN (Commission on the Status of Women, General Assembly and the Human Rights Council) and in other forums, Canada supports resolutions to eliminate violence against women and girls.
Canada’s work at the UN has contributed to developing a strong Declaration on the Elimination of Violence against Women. It has established and renewed the mandate for a UN Special Rapporteur on violence against women, its causes and consequences.
International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women 25 November
As in previous years, this year's International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women launches 16 days of activism to be concluded on the 10th of December 2020 — the day that commemorates the International Human Rights Day. Several public events are being coordinated and iconic buildings and landmarks will be 'oranged' to recall the need for a violence-free future.
The National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women
It has been over 30 years since the murder of 14 young women at Polytechnique Montréal (December 6, 1989). This act of violent misogyny shook our country and led Parliament to designate December 6 as The National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women.
UN Women - 16 Days of Activism Against Gender-Based Violence
The 16 Days of Activism against Gender-Based Violence is an annual international campaign that kicks off on 25 November, the International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women, and runs until 10 December, Human Rights Day. It was started by activists at the inaugural Women’s Global Leadership Institute in 1991 and continues to be coordinated each year by the Center for Women’s Global Leadership. It is used as an organizing strategy by individuals and organizations around the world to call for the prevention and elimination of violence against women and girls.
WHO Factsheet - Violence Against Women
The United Nations defines violence against women as "any act of gender-based violence that results in, or is likely to result in, physical, sexual, or mental harm or suffering to women, including threats of such acts, coercion or arbitrary deprivation of liberty, whether occurring in public or in private life.".

Supports

Anishinabe Women's Crisis Home and Family Healing Agency
Beendigen provides FREE support and services to ensure women and children have a safe environment to live in, free from violence. We are a confidential, safe and supportive place where women can explore their options.
Crisis Line: 1-888-200-9997
Amelia Rising Sexual Violence Support Centre
Located in North Bay, Ontario, Amelia Rising Sexual Violence Support Centre provides free, completely confidential support for people 12 years of age and older who have experienced sexual or gender-based violence.
We work from feminist, intersectional, anti-racist and anti-oppressive frameworks. A consent culture, based on equity, is essential to ending sexual and gender-based violence. Amelia Rising believes that by working together, honouring differences, leaning into our discomfort, and challenging ourselves that we will achieve our vision of a just social world.
24 Hour Crisis Line: (705) 476-3355
Ontario Coalition of Rape Crisis Centres (OCRCC)
The Ontario Coalition of Rape Crisis Centres (OCRCC) is a network of sexual assault centres across Ontario. We represent 31 English-language sexual assault centres. Our membership includes sexual assault centres from across Ontario, offering counselling, information and support services to survivors of sexual violence, including childhood sexual abuse and incest.

OTHER SUPPORTS

Good2Talk Helpline: 1-866-925-5454 or text GOOD2TALKON to 686868
Ontario’s 24/7 helpline for postsecondary students.

Kids Help Phone: 1-800-668-6868 or text CONNECT to 686868
Youth mental health support is available 24/7.

Talk 4 Healing: Toll-free: 1-855-554-HEAL (4325)

Talk 4 Healing is a culturally grounded, fully confidential helpline for Indigenous women available in 14 languages all across Ontario.

Elimination of Violence Against Women

Contact Us

Library Service Desk

Land Acknowledgement

Follow Us

Follow us!

16 Days of Activism

On Campus Supports, Events, and Resources

External Resources

Supports