LibGuides: International Women's Day (IWD): Databases and Streaming Videos

Finding Articles

Looking for Articles for Assignments or Personal Interest?

Use the Nipissing Search or Canadore Search on the Library Home page. This search provides access to a range of databases housing academic journals or popular magazine articles and other resources.

Find Databases on the Library Home page (under the Resources tab). This link to the A-Z Database Guide will allow you to search for databases by title or subject area.

Google Scholar will search the library and open access collections worldwide. Access this tool through the Library's A-Z Database Guide to view full-text articles that are accessible to your affiliated institution.

Gender Equality and Social Justice Journals: A list of academic journals with gender and social justice content is included on this page. Browsing subject-specific journals is a great way to get a sense of current trends and issues. If you are searching for articles on a specific topic it is probably more efficient to search in a database.

Databases & Portals: See below for a list of databases and research portals with Gender Equality and Social Justice content.

How to search:

Think about your search terms:

If you want just a few good results, use one or two terms
If you want to broaden your search, use more related terms.

Try, for example:

Women Or Wom*n Or Gender
Inequality Or Equality Or Equity

Recommended Subject-Specific Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
consists of a wide range of articles related to the social sciences, general sciences, humanities and education. It contains journals, magazines, newspapers, video content from the Associated Press and more.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
provides primary source documents on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world.
Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640 This link opens in a new window
features scholarship on more than 700 recovered women writers and located texts, including both familiar figures and unknown writers.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries: 1500 to 1950 This link opens in a new window
features the diaries and correspondence of hundreds of British and Irish women including biographies and annotated bibliographies from the 16th to the mid-20th century.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
provides shortcuts to business videos, company profiles, industry profiles, and market research reports. Additional coverage includes full text content from peer-reviewed business journals, trade publications, magazines, SWOT analyses, and country reports.
Canadiana This link opens in a new window
offers digitized monograph, serial, and government publication collections of historical Canadian content.
Canadian Newsstream‎ This link opens in a new window
provides access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from over 500 news sources. Newspapers including the North Bay Nugget, The Globe and Mail, and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Canadian Newsstream content is updated daily so researchers always have timely access to new information.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
covers topics related to nursing and allied health. It provides access to journal articles, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe. Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues provides access to current full text and pertinent backfile content covering topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910, Online This link opens in a new window
provides full text access to primary and secondary British source materials mainly from British and European archives covering five major themes: Conduct and politeness; Domesticity and the family; Consumption and leisure; Education and sensibility; and The body.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
offers articles that explore cultural differences, influences in society, and more.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
focuses on teaching and research in education. It includes indexed and full text journals, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers and other education-related materials.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
contains articles on gender studies, family/marital issues, health, and more.
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
covers literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual, transsexual, and transgender issues.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
is a primary source database of primarily American content of diaries and letters by over 1,300 women from Colonial times to the 1950s.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
contains primary and secondary sources including books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's activism in public life from colonial times to the present.
Women’s Studies Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
this collection traces the path of women’s issues from past to present—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights.

Streaming Resources

National Film Board This link opens in a new window
is a screening room for over 3000 films available that can be screened in class

NFB has assembled a pair of curated playlists of films created by women:

ON-Core This link opens in a new window
contains over 10,000 video segments and 4700 full video titles; new content is added weekly and K-12 Ontario curriculum correlations are on-going.

Special Awareness Dates and Holidays Subject list in ON-Core.

To find recommended titles for this month, go to

Curriculum Search;
Subject: Special Awareness Dates and Holidays;
Course/Section: International Women's Day

International Women's Day (IWD)

Contact Us

Library Service Desk

Land Acknowledgment

Finding Articles

Recommended Subject-Specific Databases

Streaming Resources