Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How Do I Write a Research Paper?

Some helpful books, links, and other advice when it comes to writing a research paper.

Finding Books

Use either Nipissing Search or Canadore Search to find books. Start with a "words or phrase" search, using the keywords you've identified. You can also search by title or author. The OMNI search tool lists all the books in the Library (including ebooks), plus DVDs, videos, audio CDs, CD-ROMs and more. 

Can't find a book that you would like to use? If it's not owned by the Library, it can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Finding Articles

If you want the most current information on your topic, you need to look for articles. 

Nipissing:

Look for articles via Nipissing Search, or by going to the Databases list. 

Are you required to use peer-reviewed journal articles? These are journal articles that have been critically reviewed by subject experts before being accepted for publication. If so, you cannot use articles from popular magazines or newspapers. Nipissing Search (and most databases) will allow you to limit your results to peer-reviewed articles.

To access the full text of an article through Nipissing Search, look for an Online Availability link. The article might be available in more than one place. Select a link to see the full text.

Within the databases, select the title of an article, and look for the PDF Full-Text link to see the full article. If you don't see a full text link, the Find It button will try to link you to the full text in another database. The Find It button will also indicate if the article is available in print or microform format in the Library. If the full text of an article is not available in any format in the Library, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Canadore:

Go to the Databases list and choose a subject related to your topic. Each database provides access to many journals, magazines, newspapers, and similar publications. You can search these databases with your keywords to find articles.

Are you required to use peer-reviewed journal articles? These are journal articles that have been critically reviewed by subject experts before being accepted for publication. If so, you cannot use articles from popular magazines or newspapers. Most databases allow you to limit your results to peer-reviewed articles.

To access the full text of an article, look for a PDF Full-Text link. If the article is available in another database, the Find It button will link you to it. The Find It button will also indicate if the article is available in print or microform format in the Library. If the full text of an article is not available in any format in the Library, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.