How Do I Write a Research Paper?

Need guidance on plagiarism and how to avoid it? Avoid Plagiarism makes understanding plagiarism simple, giving you the know-how to write confidently and independently. Get clear guidance on exactly what plagiarism is. Learn how to avoid unintentionally plagiarising the work of others. Find out how to correctly credit your sources.

A Hacker handbook has always been a how-to manual for building confidence as a college writer. Diana Hacker conceived A Writer’s Reference as a quick-access innovation in handbook format, and Nancy Sommers continues to reinvent its content for an evolving course emphasizing critical reading and writing. For more than 20 years, the book has allowed students to build confidence and take ownership of their college writing experience. A Canadian Writer’s Reference, Seventh Edition, and a variety of exciting digital options together represent a next-level tool for college writers.

Getting Started With APA Documentation -- Formatting Your Essay Or Report -- How To Prepare In-Text Citation -- Sample In-Text Citations -- How To Prepare Your References List -- Sample Reference List Entries.

Description: "Cite Your Source" helps you master the essentials, giving you the know-how to reference your writing with confidence. -- From publisher's description Contents: Why do I have to cite? -- What am I supposed to cite? -- What's your style? -- What am I reading? -- How many do I cite? -- Does citation size matter? -- Why should I use a note management system? -- Why worry about plagiarism?

Provides clear guidelines on why and when to reference as well as how to correctly cite from a huge range of sources to help students avoid committing plagiarism. Contents: Part 1. The 'shock' of referencing -- Why reference? -- What to reference -- When to reference -- Plagiarism -- Referencing and writing -- Referencing and the digital world -- Part 2. Referencing styles (Introduction) -- Harvard and other name-date referencing styles -- Numerical referencing styles -- Part 3. Referencing examples -- Frequently asked questions.

The Little, Brown Handbook provides reliable and thorough coverage of handbook basics--the writing process, grammar and usage, research and documentation--while also giving detailed discussions of critical reading, academic writing, reading and writing arguments, writing in the disciplines, and public writing.

This handbook gives you Quick Access to information when you need advice about writing, thinking and reading critically, research papers, documentation, punctuation, and grammar. My greatest wish for you as a student writer is that you succeed, just as have the many students I've been honored to teach over the years.

The Simon & Schuster Handbook for Writers is designed to help you find what you need to become a better writer. It offers comprehensive access to vital information on the writing process, from mastering grammar to using correct punctuation, from writing research papers to documenting sources, and from writing for the Web to writing using visuals. The Simon & Schuster Handbook is carefully designed to be a useful tool in your academic life and beyond.

Blair's practical book gives graduate students the tools they need to successfully plan, write, and defend their thesis or dissertation. Each chapter addresses a rite of passage common to most graduate programs: selecting a methodology, conducting a literature search, carrying out research, analyzing data, and preparing for a thesis defense. Combining years of supervisory experience with up-to-date research, Blair addresses issues important to graduate students that are often left out of these guides, including how to navigate the ethics review process and avoid problems related to academic integrity, such as plagiarism, how to select and prepare for a productive meeting with a supervisor, and how to establish an academic track record by presenting research at conferences and publishing in academic journals.

"This primer explains how to write clear, compelling, well-organized research papers. From picking a promising topic, to finding and digesting the pertinent literature, to developing a thesis, to outlining and presenting ideas, to editing for clarity and concision--each step is broken down and illustrated with examples. In addition, a bonus chapter discusses how to combat procrastination. You will learn that the best writing is done in chunks over long periods of time and that writing is a skill that improves with practice. By following the advice in this book, you can not only get through dreaded writing assignments, but also become a more proficient writer. This book is part of APA's Concise Guides to Conducting Behavioral, Health, and Social Science Research series. Aimed at undergraduate students in research methods courses or others with a lab or research project, each book describes a key stage in the research process. Collectively, these books provide a solid grounding in research from start to finish"--Back cover.