Indigenous Resources Guide

Applying Indigenous Research Methods focuses on the question of "How" Indigenous Research Methodologies (IRMs) can be used and taught across Indigenous studies and education. In this collection, Indigenous scholars address the importance of IRMs in their own scholarship, while focusing conversations on the application with others. Each chapter is co-authored to model methods rooted in the sharing of stories to strengthen relationships, such as yarning, storywork, and others. The chapters offer a wealth of specific examples, as told by researchers about their research methods in conversation with other scholars, teachers, and community members. Applying Indigenous Research Methods is an interdisciplinary showcase of the ways IRMs can enhance scholarship in fields including education, Indigenous studies, settler colonial studies, social work, qualitative methodologies, and beyond.

"Through a series of case studies by leading anthropologists, Cool Anthropology highlights the many different approaches that scholars have used to engage the public with their research. Editors Kristina Baines and Victoria Costa showcase efforts to make meaningful connections with communities outside the walls of academia, pushing anthropological thinking beyond the discipline. Cool Anthropology offers insights into the entire research and dissemination process--from making early relationships, to securing funding, to employing appropriate technology, to defining an audience and then engaging that audience. Contributors to the volume shed light on their own ways of reaching the public with anthropological research and methods, including virtual reality, performance art, film, and comics, as well as social media, blogs, online magazines, and classroom activities. Through their focus on collaborative efforts, they push against the exclusivity of “knowledge production” to ask how engaging communities as both producers and consumers of academic research helps to promote anthropology better and do anthropology better."-- Provided by publisher.

"Canada's colonial history continues to have a devastating impact on Indigenous peoples and communities. Decolonizing Data explores how ongoing structures of colonialization negatively impact the well-being of Indigenous peoples and communities across Canada, resulting in persistent health inequalities. In addressing the social dimensions of health, particularly as they affect Indigenous peoples and BIPOC communities, Decolonizing Data asks, should these groups be given priority for future health policy considerations? Decolonizing Data provides a deeper understanding of the social dimensions of health as applied to Indigenous peoples, who have been historically underfunded in and excluded from health services, programs, and quality of care; this has most recently been seen during the COVID-19 pandemic. Drawing on both Western and Indigenous methodologies, this unique scholarly contribution takes a sociological perspective, as well as the "two-eyed seeing" approach to research methods. By looking at the ways that everyday research practices contribute to the colonization of health outcomes for Indigenous peoples, Decolonizing Data exposes the social dimensions of healthcare, and offers a careful and respectful reflection on how to "unsettle conversations" about applied social research initiatives for our most vulnerable groups."-- Provided by publisher

"From Oceania to North America, indigenous peoples have created storytelling traditions of incredible depth and diversity. Decolonizing Research brings together indigenous researchers and activists from Canada, Australia and New Zealand to assert the unique value of indigenous storywork as a focus of research, and to develop methodologies that rectify the colonial attitudes inherent in much past and current scholarship."--Publisher description.

"The author draws from the critical ethnography she conducted to provide concrete examples of the research process including issues related to data analysis and respectful representation. A unique feature of the book is the emphasis on advisement and the student-advisor relationship that is embedded in chapter discussions. The author addresses the complexities of the relationships that develop between students and advisors over time, emphasizing the role students can play in ensuring the relationship is productive from the beginning to the completion of their research journey. At the conclusion of each chapter there is an annotated bibliography of additional sources (e.g., articles, theses and dissertations) that provide a discussion, and/or examples of research, related to the issues addressed in the chapter. The text includes a significant amount of Canadian context within the text itself and as part of the annotated bibliographies. This qualitative research text is situated within a critical, feminist postmodern framework. The book has three central organizing themes shaping the discussion of doing critical qualitative research (critical reflexivity, the distance dynamic, respectful research praxis). The role power, privilege and passion play in decisions related to what gets researched, who is positioned as researcher or participant and how data are collected, analyzed represented and publicized is embedded in the chapter discussions. The text is written for student researchers, individuals who teach and advise students, instructors of qualitative research courses in social sciences, health and education and community members interested in qualitative methods and conducting research."-- Provided by publisher.

"Elements of Indigenous Style provides guidelines to help writers, editors, and publishers produce material that reflects Indigenous people in an appropriate and respectful manner. Gregory Younging, a member of the Opaskwayak Cree Nation in Northern Manitoba, has been the managing editor of Theytus Books, the first Aboriginal-owned publishing house in Canada, for over 13 years. Elements of Indigenous Style evolved from the house style guide Gregory developed at Theytus in order to ensure content was consistent and respectful. This guide contains: A historical overview of the portrayal of Indigenous peoples in literature; Common errors and how to avoid them when writing about Indigenous peoples; Guidance on working in a culturally sensitive way; A discussion of problematic and preferred terminology; Suggestions for editorial guidelines."--Provided by publisher.

"How can scholars best give back to the communities in which they conduct their research? This critical question arises from a long history of colonial scholarship that exploited study subjects by taking knowledge without giving anything in return. It is a problem faced by all field researchers, even those working in their own communities. Over the past several decades--and especially since the evolution of feminist methodologies, participatory research, and the postcolonial turn in the 1990s--there have been calls for research to be less exploitative, but also for researchers and for the research itself to give something back. Giving Back: Research and Reciprocity in Indigenous Settings addresses the need for reciprocity in the research process, especially (though not exclusively) in regard to indigenous communities. The twelve case studies in this volume demonstrate that giving back can happen through the research itself--through the careful framing of questions, co-production of knowledge, and dissemination of results--but also through the day-to-day actions and attitudes of researchers that inevitably occur in the field.

The Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies is the only handbook to make connections regarding many of the perspectives of the "new" critical theorists and emerging indigenous methodologies.Built on the foundation of the landmark SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research, the Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies extends beyond the investigation of qualitative inquiry itself to explore the indigenous and nonindigenous voices that inform research, policy, politics, and social justice. Editors Norman K. Denzin, Yvonna S. Lincoln, and Linda Tuhiwai Smith explore in depth some of the newer formulations of critical theories and many indigenous perspectives, and seek to make transparent the linkages between the two. Key Features• Contains global examples including South African, Hawaiian, Maori, Central African and Islamic ones.. Includes a "Who's Who" of educators and researchers in critical methodologies. . Provides a comprehensive body of work that represents the state of the art for critical methodologies and indigenous discourses . Covers the history of critical and indigenous theory and how it came to inform and impact qualitative research .

Available ONLINE Only.
This book examines how Indigenous Peoples around the world are demanding greater data sovereignty, and challenging the ways in which governments have historically used Indigenous data to develop policies and programs.
In the digital age, governments are increasingly dependent on data and data analytics to inform their policies and decision-making. However, Indigenous Peoples have often been the unwilling targets of policy interventions and have had little say over the collection, use and application of data about them, their lands and cultures. At the heart of Indigenous Peoples’ demands for change are the enduring aspirations of self-determination over their institutions, resources, knowledge and information systems.

"Indigenous Epistemology problematizes the self-reflexive inquiry between two researchers engaged in transnational collaboration that asserts experiential pedagogy as a tool to decolonize research methodology and honor the inter-generational stories that empower Indigenous people across the globe. The authors demonstrate the direct connection between Black Lives Matter, SOS BlakAustralia and the Maroons of Jamaica as examples of contemporary Indigenous people disrupting hegemony through agentive action that inspires global awareness and pushes for systemic change. In elevating the critical epistemologies of the ancient cultures of the Aboriginals of Australia and the African Diaspora, the authors assert that the legacies and current operations of colonialism must be disrupted and replaced with an emancipatory epistemology"-- Provided by publisher.

Available ONLINE with older version in physcial format.
"Indigenous methodologies flow from tribal knowledge, and while they are allied with several Western qualitative approaches, there are key distinctions. In this work, Kovach examines the theoretical and epistemological basis of Indigenous methodologies and offers practical guidance to those conducting research in Indigenous communities."--BOOK JACKET.

"Author Bagele Chilisa updates her groundbreaking textbook to give a new generation of scholars a crucial foundation in indigenous methods, methodologies, and epistemologies. Addressing the increasing emphasis in the classroom and in the field to sensitize researchers and students to diverse perspectives - especially those of women, minority groups, former colonized societies, indigenous people, historically oppressed communities, and people with disabilities, the second edition of Indigenous Research Methodologies situates research in a larger, historical, cultural, and global context to make visible the specific methodologies that are commensurate with the transformative paradigm of social science research"-- Provided by publisher.

This collection celebrates the breadth and depth of how Indigenous writers are shaping the decolonizing research world today. With contributions from Indigenous female researchers, this collection offers the much needed academic space to distinguish methodological approaches, and overcome the novelty confines of being marginal voices.

Available in e-Book and Physical formats.
"In Indigenous Writes, Chelsea Vowel initiates myriad conversations about the relationship between Indigenous peoples and Canada. An advocate for Indigenous worldviews, the author discusses the fundamental issues--the terminology of relationships; culture and identity; myth-busting; state violence; and land, learning, law and treaties--along with wider social beliefs about these issues. She answers the questions that many people have on these topics to spark further conversations at home, in the classroom, and in the larger community."-- Provided by publisher.

"Indigenous methodologies have been silenced and obscured by the Western scientific means of knowledge production. In a challenge to this colonialist rejection of Indigenous knowledge, Anishinaabe researcher Kathleen Absolon describes how Indigenous researchers re-theorize and re-create methodologies. Understanding Indigenous methodologies as guided by Indigenous paradigms, worldviews, principles, processes and contexts, Absolon argues that they are wholistic, relational, inter-relational and interdependent with Indigenous philosophies, beliefs and ways of life. In exploring the ways Indigenous researchers use Indigenous methodologies within mainstream academia, Kaandossiwin renders these methods visible and helps to guard other ways of knowing from colonial repression. This second edition features the author's reflections on her decade of research and teaching experience since the last edition, celebrating the most common student questions, concerns, and revelations."-- Provided by publisher.

Indigenous students remain one of the least represented populations in higher education. They continue to account for only one percent of the total post-secondary student population, and this lack of representation is felt in multiple ways beyond enrollment. Less research money is spent studying Indigenous students, and their interests are often left out of projects that otherwise purport to address diversity in higher education.
Recently, Native scholars have started to reclaim research through the development of their own research methodologies and paradigms that are based in tribal knowledge systems and values, and that allow inherent Indigenous knowledge and lived experiences to strengthen the research. Reclaiming Indigenous Research in Higher Education highlights the current scholarship emerging from these scholars of higher education. From understanding how Native American students make their way through school, to tracking tribal college and university transfer students, this book allows Native scholars to take center stage, and shines the light squarely on those least represented among us.

Available in E-Book and Physical formats.
"Intended as a senior undergraduate and graduate text, Research As Resistance brings together the theory and practice of critical, Indigenous, and anti-oppressive approaches to social science research. The book pursues some of the ontological and epistemological considerations involved in such research, including theorizing the self of the researcher, and offers exemplars across a range of methodologies, including institutional ethnography, narrative autobiography, storytelling, and participatory action research. This is a unique text in that it describes both theoretical foundations and practical applications, and because all of the featured researchers occupy marginalized locations. It is also firmly anchored in the Canadian context."--BOOK JACKET.

"Relationships don't just shape Indigenous reality, they are our reality. Indigenous researchers develop relationships with ideas in order to achieve enlightenment in the ceremony that is Indigenous research. Indigenous research is the ceremony of maintaining accountability to these relationships. For researchers to be accountable to all our relations, we must make careful choices in our selection of topics, methods of data collection, forms of analysis and finally in the way we present information"-- Jacket.

Available ONLINE Only.
Part survey of the field of Indigenous literary studies, part cultural history, and part literary polemic, Why Indigenous Literatures Matter asserts the vital significance of literary expression to the political, creative, and intellectual efforts of Indigenous peoples today. In considering the connections between literature and lived experience, this book contemplates four key questions at the heart of Indigenous kinship traditions: How do we learn to be human? How do we become good relatives? How do we become good ancestors? How do we learn to live together?