It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indigenous Resources Guide
A guide highlighting works by and about Indigenous Peoples.
Google Scholar will search library and open access collections worldwide. Access this tool through the Library's Database LibGuideto view full-text articles that is accessible to your affiliated institution.
Indigenous Academic Journals: A list of academic journals with Indigenous content is included on this page. Browsing subject-specific journals is a great way to get a sense of current trends and issues. If you are searching for articles on a specific topic it is probably more efficient to search in a database.
Databases & Portals: See below for a list of databases and research portals with Indigenous content.
How to search:
Think about your search terms:
If you want just a few good results, use one or two terms
If you want to make your search wider, use more related terms.
Try, for example: "First Nation*" Or Aboriginal* Or Indigenous
Remember, the names or spelling of Indigenous nations or communities may vary, and names may change over time. The names communities use for themselves may be different from how they are referred to in English. If you must use a source with outdated or inappropriate terminology (i.e. book titles or content from historical documents) the recommendation is to ensure your reader clearly understands the context.
A resource covering many aspects of northern Canada and adjacent marine areas. It includes citations to publications and descriptions of research projects. See full entry for Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS).
Provides access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from over 360 news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Canadian Newsstream content is updated daily so researchers always have timely access to new information.
Amultilingual resource providing access to primary source documents relating to Canada's heritage from the period of the first European settlers to the early 20th Century in a series of themed collections.
Contains primary source documents such as letters, diaries, government papers, business records, land transactions, legal documents, speeches, books, and pamphlets as they relate to the exploration and settlement of North American, Australasian, and African frontiers between the seventeenth and mid-twentieth century.
Contains 256 plays by 49 playwrights. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others.